Make your own free website on
Album: Unity: The Official ATHENS 2004 Olympic Games Album
Artist: various artists
2004 Capitol Music Germany, a division of EMI Music Germany GmbH & Co. KG.
CD: 7243 4 73083 2 1

Yiannis Kotsiras: lead vocals (15)
Tarkan: vocals (15)
Katia: backgrounds (15)
and as below

Additional musicians:
Joss Stone: additional vocals (7)
Christie Beu: additional vocals (7)
Lol Creme: guitars, keys, drum programming, background vocals (16 uncredited)
Hossam Ramzy: percussion (16 uncredited)

Produced by Avril Lavigne (1), Beyoncé Knowles and Soul Diggaz (2), Timbaland (3), StarGate (4), Bill Laswell (5), Trayton Rami (7), Raphael Saadiq/Kelvin Wooten (8), Steven "Lenky" Marsden (9), Mike Elizondo (11), Steve Lindsey/Daniel Lenz (13), Alex Silva/Herbert Groenemeyer (14), Brain Eno/Steve Hillage (15), Trevor Horn (16)
Additional production by (2), Steven "Lenky" Marsden (6)
Executive producer: Rikki Stein (15)
Mixed by Timbaland (3)
Remix by Steven "Lenky" Marsden (6), Blackshadow (7)

Original "Unity" concept and executive producer: Emmanuel de Buretel

1. Avril Lavigne: Knockin' on Heaven's Door [Bob Dylan] (2:52)
2. Destiny's Child - I Know [Beyoncé Knowles/LaShaun Owens/Karriem Mack/Jully Black/Corte Ellis] (3:50)
3. Timbaland - Kiley Dean - Utada: By Your Side [T Mosley/W Millsap/C Nelson/J Young/Kiley Dean; additional lyrics by Tom Nichols] (4:19)
4. Tiziano Ferro - Jamelia: Universal Prayer [mus: Tiziano Ferro/Mikkel SE/Tor Erik Hermansen; lyr: Jamelia Davis/Tom Nichols] (4:04)
5. Sting - Mariza: A Thousand Years [mus: Sting/Kipper; original version lyr Sting/Kipper; Portugese version lyr: Paulo Abreu Lima] (5:03)
6. Beres Hammond - Les Nubians: All the Way [mus & lyr: Beres Hammond; lyr: Hélène Faussart/Célia Faussart] (3:57)
7. Mr G: Issues [Chad Simpson/Troyton Rami/Sly Dunbar/Robbie Shakespeare/Joss Stone/Christie Beu] (3:42)
8. Earth Wind & Fire - Roots Manuva: Love Together [Raphael Saadiq/Kelvin Wooten] (4:41)
9. Wayne Wonder - Neneh Cherry: Eyes on the Prize [mus & lyr: S Marsden/V Charles/Neneh Cherry; lyr: Tommy Evans/Cameron McVey] (4:13)
10. Lenny Kravitz - Kadim Al Sahir: We Want Peace [Lenny Kravitz; Arabic adaptation/additional lyrics: Kadim Al Sahir] (3:54)
11. Macy Gray - Keziah Jones: Oh Yeah [Macy Gray/Mike Elizondo] (3:54)
12. Moby - Public Enemy: MKLVFKWR [mus: Richard Hall; lyr: C Ridenhour/W Drayton] (3:23)
13. Alice Cooper - Xzibit: Stand [Alice Cooper/Bridget Benenate/Rick Boston/Xzibit] (4:00)
14. Herbert Groenemeyer - Cheb Mami - George Dalaras: Everlasting [mus & lyr: Herbert Groenemeyer; lyr: Dom Bouffard] (4:15)
15. Brain Eno - Skin - Rachid Taha: Still Standing [Brain Eno/Rachid Taha/Steve Hillage/Skin] (4:28)
16. Trevor Horn - Yiannis Kotsiras - Tarkan: Pass the Flame - The Official Torch Relay Theme [Trevor Horn/Lol Creme] (4:13)

Notes: One of three official ATHENS 2004 albums. This was the pop album; there was also the classical(ish) album Harmony (a compilation including Vangelis' "Chariots of Fire", Adiemus, Karl Jenkins, Vanessa Mae, Nigel Kennedy, Maria Callas, Placido Domingo) and the Greek album Phos. All three were also released in a box set. All three raised money for UNICEF's work with HIV/AIDS. Unity consists of all new recordings, the idea being to bring together collaborations of disparate musicians to represent the uniting nature of the Olympic Games.

(16) was the official torch relay theme and was initially released as a single, credited to Trevor Horn/Lol Creme/Yiannis Kotsiras. Kotsiras is a Greek singer, Tarkan, a Turkish singer and Katia, a Lebanese singer. The single also included a Greek version ("Na to Phos", Greek lyrics by Lina Nicolacopoulou) and an instrumental version.

I suspect, given his writing and production credit, that Steve Hillage plays on (15). (HP, 19 Sep 04)

Return to Home Page